OWS 2010 Swim Series Race 5

posted 27 Aug 2010, 09:51 by Oxford Masters   [ updated 27 Aug 2010, 10:04 ]
City of Oxford Masters swimmers put in another strong set of swims at the final round of the OWS.co.uk swim series at Little Marlow on 12th August.
Despite going a little off-course, Matt Gomez won his age group in the 750m in 11.57, whilst Dave Denny finished fourth overall, third male and first non-wetsuit swimmer in the 1500m,  clocking a fast 18.56 and dishing out some 'open water justice' on the way. Andy Spencer was third non-wetsuiter home in 24.53.
Most of the Oxford swimmers opted for the 3.8k race this time around, Simon Joyce finishing fifth overall and was first non-wetsuit swimmer in 53.16.  In her first race at this distance, Jo Eaton also made the top 10 overall and was first woman home in 57.55, closely followed by Ursula Schulz in 58.37.  Kirsty Harvey and Clare Vallance both knocked significant chunks of time off previous efforts at this distance on this course, finishing in 1.02.48 and 1.03.59 respectively.